# Alabama Public Charter School Commission September 28, 2020 3:00 P.M. Via Zoom

### **MINUTES**

The Alabama Public Charter School Commission (APCSC) met on September 28, 2020, at 3 P.M. in a Zoom meeting to consider matters relevant to duties of the Alabama Public Charter School Commission outlined in the *Alabama School Choice and Student Opportunity Act* for public charter schools in Alabama.

## Welcome, Introductions, Approval of Agenda and Minutes

Henry Nelson welcomed everyone to the meeting. Roll call was taken by Mrs. Logan Searcy. Nine members were present which represented a quorum. One member arrived late due to connectivity issues. Members of the Commission who participated:

Henry Nelson Dick Brewbaker

Allison Alexander Rebecca Lee-Gwin (left early)

David Marshall(left early) Paul Morin
Marla Green(late) Sydney Raine
Steve Siple Kim Terry

Chairman Nelson asked for a motion to approve the agenda and the minutes from the September 17, 2020 meeting. Allison Alexander made the motion to approve the agenda and the minutes, and Sydney Raine seconded the motion with nine members present. The vote was to approve. Roll call was called again for the late member's arrival. Ten members were present.

### **Discussion and Consideration of Chairman and Vice Chairman**

Mr. Nelson introduced the next item on the agenda — Consideration of Chairman and Vice Chairman. Chairman Henry Nelson made a nominated David Marshall for chairman. Logan Searcy and Lane Knight explained the procedures for electing chairman and vice chairman as written in the Bylaws which requires a written ballot unless the majority of the Commission votes to do it by a show of hands. Dick Brewbaker made the motion to complete the vote by a show of hands in lieu of a written ballot. Sydney Raine seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous to complete the process by a show of hands. Henry Nelson nominated David Marshall as chairman. Paul Morin Nominated Allison Alexander. David Marshall was elected chairman by a vote of seven(yes) to three(no). Henry Nelson nominated Sydney Raine as co-chairman. Sydney Raine declined the nomination. Henry Nelson nominated Allison Alexander as the Vice Chairman. Dick Brewbaker seconded the motion. No other nominations were made. Allison Alexander was elected vice chairman unanimously. David Marshall accepted the position and offered appreciation. He had to leave the meeting for a work conflict. Allison Alexander continued the meeting. She expressed appreciation and asked for the next item on the agenda to begin.

#### Request for Proposal for External Evaluator and Charter School Update

Logan Searcy provided an update on the request for proposal for external evaluators and the legislative report. She introduced Attorney Whit Colvin from Criterion K12. Whit Colvin explained that Criterion K12 is a resource for charter schools in several areas. He elaborated on the resources they provide. discussion followed. Logan Searcy suggested that Criterion K12 be a resource for charter schools. A discussion

followed. Henry Nelson made the nomination to contract them for professional services for no more than \$25,000. Dick Brewbaker seconded the motion. The motion to approve carried with seven votes.

# **Consideration of Magic City Acceptance Academy's Resolution**

Henry Nelson made the motion to approve the resolution for the denial of the application for Magic City Acceptance Academy. Paul Morin seconded the motion. The motion carried with six votes to approve the resolution.

# **Consideration of Chairman's Authority to Sign Contracts**

Logan Searcy stated that the resolutions and the charter contracts must be signed by the chairman of the Commission. The Bylaws state the Chairman has the authority. A vote to approve this practice. Dick Brewbaker made the motion to approve the chairman's authority to sign charter school contracts. Allison Alexander seconded the motion. The motion to approve was unanimous.

#### Adjourn

A discussion followed about the Commission's meetings and that in-person meetings were preferable. Dick Brewbaker made the motion to adjourn, and Allison Haygood seconded the motion. The motion to approve was unanimous.