# Alabama Public Charter School Commission May 20, 2021 10:00 A.M. Via Zoom

#### **MINUTES**

The Alabama Public Charter School Commission (APCSC) meeting May 20, 2021, at 10:00 A.M. in a Zoom meeting to consider matters relevant to duties of the Alabama Public Charter School Commission outlined in the *Alabama School Choice and Student Opportunity Act* for public charter schools in Alabama.

# Welcome, Introductions, Approval of Agenda and Minutes

Chairman David Marshall welcomed everyone to the meeting. Roll call was taken by Mrs. Logan Searcy. Nine Commission members were present which represented a quorum. Members of the Commission who participated:

David Marshall Sydney Raine
Marla Green Ty Moody
Dick Brewbaker Paul Morin

Henry Nelson Vernet Nettles (Rotating Commissioner)
Allison Alexander Cedric Tatum (Rotating Commissioner)

Steve Siple

Chairman Marshall asked for a motion to approve today's agenda and the minutes from the May 11, 2021 meeting. Dick Brewbaker made a motion to accept today's agenda and the minutes. Marla Green seconded. The vote was unanimous. Two rotating commissioners also participated. Minutes and agenda were accepted.

## Consideration of the Addition of a Summer Application Cycle

Mr. Marshall introduced the first item on the agenda. Consideration of having a Summer Cycle for application submissions. Commissioner Marshall asked for discussion. There were some questions regarding the summer application process giving new applicants enough time to be ready to open. Reminder was given that the applicants could ask for extensions if time became a factor. Commissioner Brewbaker made a motion to accept the addition of a summer application. Commissioner Nelson seconded. The vote was unanimous in favor of a Summer Application Cycle.

#### **Election of Treasurer**

Chairman Marshall introduced the item regarding the election of a treasurer. A brief explanation of the need for a treasurer was given. Mr. Marshall asked for questions or discussion. Henry Nelson nominated Steve Siple for the position. No others were nominated. Commissioner Nelson made a motion to vote on Steve Siple for treasurer. Sydney Raine seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous. Steve Siple is Charter Commission Treasurer.

## Consideration of Issues to the Appeal of Alabama Aerospace and Aviation High School

Commissioner Marshall gave a brief explanation of the prior meeting and concerns raised. Mr. Marshall allowed Ruben Morris the CEO of Alabama Aerospace and Aviation High School the opportunity to give a presentation to the commission. Questions and discussion followed. Commissioners asked for legal clarification. Lane Knight shared the legal process for the resolution tabled from last meeting. Motion was

made by Cedric Tatum (Rotating Commissioner), to un-table the resolution from last meeting and vote. Commissioner Allison Alexander seconded the motion. Chairman Marshall made a final call for questions and discussion. A request was made to repeat what the tabled motion was. The tabled motion was: A motion to uphold the vote to deny Alabama Aerospace and Aviation High School's denial appeal. Commissioner Raine called for a vote. Commissioner Nelson seconded. The vote was 7 yes – 2 no to uphold the Resolution to deny AAAHS appeal. One commissioner abstained. The Resolution to uphold the denial of Alabama Aerospace and Aviation High School passes.

#### Consideration of the Resolution for I Dream Big Academy (Montgomery)

Chairman Marshall introduced the next item. A Resolution to uphold the denial of I Dream Big Academy. Mr. Marshall called for questions or discussion. Commissioner Allison Alexander made a motion to uphold the resolution to deny I Dream Big Academy. Vernet Nettles (Rotating Commissioner) seconded the motion. The vote was 9 yes 1 abstaining. The motion carried. The Resolution to uphold the denial of I Dream Big Academy passes.

# Consideration of the Resolution for Empower Community School (Bessemer)

Chairman Marshall moved to the item to consider the Resolution to uphold the approval of Empower Community School. Mr. Marshall opened the floor for any questions or discussion of the resolution. Commissioner Brewbaker made a motion to accept the resolution to uphold the approval of Empower Community School. Commissioner Allison Alexander seconded the motion. The vote was 8 yes 1 abstaining. The Resolution upholding the approval of Empower Community School passes.

## **Adjourn**

Chairman Marshall adjourned the meeting at 11:15 A.M.

Will need a commission meeting to approve application for a renewal application. (Early June)

Logan Searcy gave an update on Quality reviews. Reports coming soon.

Logan commended local authorizers for participation in professional development.

Acknowledgement of new commissioners to commission.

Invitation to Commissioners to participate in MEGA Conference in Mobile July12-15, 2021.